Sugar Hill Historical Museum
Currently closed for the season.
Located beside the Sugar Hill village green (across from the old post office), this museum includes information of this scenic hillside town from 1780 to the present. Our campus consists of two barns, one main building, and the Reid-Burpee house adjacent to the Carriage Barn. The Carriage Barn is filled with tools, horse-drawn carriages, folk-style paintings of old Sugar Hill, and a Benjamin Morrill tower clock. The second barn, the Sleigh Shed, displays a vast and growing collection of historic public signs and sleighs, including one sleigh from the Bette Davis estate. It also garages the 1939 Ford fire Truck #2 given to the newly formed sugar Hill Fire Department in 1948 by Henry Crapo. This Ford truck, originally a farm truck, was retro-fitted by the firemen. When the museum is open, the fire truck magically appears on the front lawn.
The main building contains extensive photograph archives, a local history and genealogy library, the Cobleigh Tavern public room, a gift shop, and a unique main gallery exhibit that changes annually to reflect the history of sugar Hill’s people and places.
Open Memorial Day Weekend through Columbus Day Weekend, Fridays and Saturdays, 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Admission is free. Memberships and donations are encouraged. Special tours may be arranged during the season. Contact Curator-Director Kitty Bigelow at 603-823-5275. Visit our website and find us on Facebook at Sugar Hill Historical Museum