Visitor's Guide
  • Map View
  • Street View
  • Directions

Sugar Hill Historical Museum

Closed for Winter season
OPEN MAY 26 through OCTOBER 9, 2017

Fridays and Saturdays 11 AM to 3 PM

Our campus consists of two barn, one main building, and the newly-acquired Reid-Burpee House adjacent to the property. The Carriage Barn is full of tools, horse-drawn carriages, a Benjamin Morrill tower clock, and a reproduction of a wood-fired stove and kitchen.

The second barn, the Sleigh Shed, displays our collection of public signs and a variety of sleighs. It also garages the 1939 Ford Fire Truck #2 given to the newly formed Sugar Hill Fire Department in 1948 by Henry Crapo. This Ford truck, originally a farm truck, was retrofitted by the firemen. When the museum is open, the fire truck magically appears on the front lawn.

The main building contains a photograph gallery, a local history and genealogy library, the Cobleigh Tavern, a gift shop, and a unique main gallery exhibit which changes annually. The 2017 exhibit, Our Hat Trunk, features hats from around the world. The Reid-Burpee house features a vintage kitchen.

Admission to the museum is free. Donations are gratefully accepted. The well-stocked gift shop sells the museum’s self-published books, antiques, jewelry, seasonal items, and many items crafted by local residents.

For large groups, special tours may be arranged.

Visit us on Facebook: Sugar Hill Historical Museum, and check out our website: www.sugarhillnh.org/library-and-museum/sugar-hill-historical-museum/